Peter Lau wins the Mini Main Event


Sunday 6 October saw the conclusion of the inaugural Mini Main Event, which was held in the Crown Poker Room at Crown Casino, Melbourne, with Peter Lau being crowned champion after he beat out a collection of top players from around the 888 Poker League, Australian Poker League and Pub Poker leagues.


The event was an AU$250 buy-in, which would see players receive 20,000 chips, playing through 20-minute blind levels during Day1 before enjoying an extra 10-minute’s on the final day with 30-minute levels. The total prize pool sat at AU$66,000 with the eventual winner collecting a handsome AU$16,000 for two days of poker along with a silver bracelet and trophy.


Pub Poker royalty made their appearances at the two day event with Pat Dillon, Bec Catterwell, David Hounam, Philip ‘Pixie’ Hansen and Jonathan ‘Jono’ Bredin, who was fresh from his APPT Queenstown Main Event victory, all taking their seats in the Main Event.


40 players remained on Day2, who had all guaranteed themselves a minimum pay-out of AU$350, but as players were eliminated one by one the Crown Poker Room was quickly closing in on its champion. Amongst some of the notable early eliminations mother and son pairing of Barbara and Simon Wuksta hit the rail at 29th and 28th respectively while Clint McCormick followed quickly after in 27th. Jamie Blackman would make it two top-20 finishes in Main Events this year bowing out in 19th position. The bubble buster would be the unlucky Stephen Hansen winding up in 11th place collecting AU$1,400 for his troubles.


2013 Mini Main Event final table payouts

1-      Peter Lau – AU$16,000

2-      Roy Brown – AU$8,000

3-      Elimear Fahy – AU$5,500

4-      Drew Taylor – AU$4,000

5-      Vic Duncan – AU$3,500

6-      Andrew Oataway – AU$3,000

7-      Asanga Godevithane – AU$2,500

8-      Max Hutchinson – AU$2,000

9-      Ken Eastwood – AU$1,800


The final table would quickly see Hugo Borrego be the first to bust-out in 10th place quickly followed by Ken Eastwood 9th, who was left reeling following his opponents runner-runner flush. Max Hutchinson would be the next to bow out in 8th with Asanga Godevithane hitting the rail in 7th.


Andrew Oataway and Vic Duncan would both lose huge pots to Peter Lau to end their Mini Main Events in 6th and 5th respectively. Lau then continued on his elimination streak by taking down Drew Taylor in 4th place leaving Elimear Fahy, the only remaining female, Roy Brown and Lau as the final three players. Lau would take a back seat as Brown took down Fahy, who shoved all-in with pocket Jacks and losing to a river gut-shot straight, leaving himself and Lau to contest for the crown.


After some brief back and fourths, Brown would raise to 500,000 chips, which Lau would call all-in followed, after a long deliberation, by Brown. Lau rolled over Q-Q while Brown held 4-4, after a nervy flop, which revealed a Q for Lau, the turn and river gave neither player any outs ending Brown’s Main Event in second place taking home AU$8,000 for his weekends efforts while Peter Lau would walk away with the Bracelet, Trophy and the AU$16,000.


For more information visit Pub Poker, 888 Poker League or the Australian Poker League or alternatively stay tuned to FTR for all the latest poker news and results from around the world.



The Tasmanian Three Diamond Challenge set for this November


Wrest Point Hotel and Casino, Tasmania, have joined with the Australian Poker League and 888 Poker League to create the inaugural Tasmanian Three Diamond Poker Challenge. The event is set for 1 – 3 November in Hobart’s picturesque casino with an estimated AU$50,000 prize pool, becoming Tasmania’s richest poker tournaments.


Buy-in for the event is set at AU$550 for the Main Event but players can also win their way into the tournament via seasonal finals held through the Australian Poker League and 888 Poker Leagues around the state.


The event will run two Day1 flights with a cap of 50 entrants each day, with a total of 100 competitors for the overall event. Day1 a begins at 6:00 pm Friday 1 November with Day1 b commencing at 2:00pm Saturday 2 November. Players will each receive 20,000 in chips as a beginning balance while playing in 30-minute levels. Survivors from each of the Day1 flights return at 12:00pm Sunday 3 November to take their seats and make a run at the title and estimated first placed prize of AU$15,000.


For more information on the structure and how to entre visit the Tasmanian Three Diamond Poker Challenge.


Players who are looking to enter need to complete this application form and pay cash at the Wrest Point Poker Room or to send a Bank Transfer to [email protected].


Tasmania is quickly becoming the next best go to destination for poker in the state of Victoria. Following on from the very successful Tasmanian Poker Championships, which were held in July, the Three Diamond Poker Challenge is set to mark another memorable poker event on the island.


For more information visit the  Three Diamond Challenge or alternatively stay tuned to FTR for the latest news and results from around the poker world.



The Adelaide Poker Championships 2013 schedule has been announce


South Australia’s most premier poker tournament, the Adelaide Casino Poker Championship, is back in 2013 following the announcement of dates from the Adelaide Poker Zone. The full schedule has been released and includes the AU$2,400 buy-in Main Event along with enough side events to keep everyone satisfied over 10 packed poker days.


2012’s Main Event saw 94 players take their seats with Allan Rye outlasting everyone to take home the crown and the AU$37,430 first placed prize. This year’s tournament will run from 4 – 15 November in the Poker Zone at the Adelaide Casino and Hotel. The Main Event will run from 11 – 14 of November with the buy-in set at AU$2,400, an increase of AU$900 from 2012.


The Main Event will feature two Day1 flights while running as a re-entry and repechage, meaning any player eliminated on Day1a will have the chance to re-enter on either the same Day1 flight or Day1 b. Players will begin with a generous 30,000 chips with levels increasing every 30-minutes on Day1 with Day 2 and thereafter increasing to 45-minutes.


The first event scheduled for the tournament will be the AU$350 NLHE/PLO Teams Event with a AU$350 NLHE Terminator and a AU$1,100 NLHE Freeze-out to follow. Additionally there will be a Free Entry Main Event Satellite running on Thursday 7 November.


Full Event Schedule listed below


Week 1 – Events

1-      4.30pm, Monday 4 November – Event 1 Teams Event NLHE/PLO (buy-in AU350 per two-player teams)


2-      4.30pm, Tuesday 5 November – Terminator (buy-in AU$350)


3-      4.30pm, Wednesday 6 November – Craig Ivey Triple Chance (buy-in AU$560)


4-      4.30pm, Thursday 7 November – Free Entry Main Event Satellite (buy-in Adelaide Casino fee)


5-      4.30pm, Friday 8 November – Poker Zone Challenge (buy-in AU$455)


Week 2 – Main Event

6-      4.30pm, Monday 11 November – 2013 Adelaide Poker Championships Day1 A (buy-in AU$2,400)


7-      4.30pm, Tuesday 12 November – 2013 Adelaide Poker Championships Day 1 B (buy-in AU$2,400)


8-      4.30pm, Wednesday 13 November – 2013 Adelaide Poker Championships Day 2


9-      4.30pm, Thursday 14 November – 2013 Adelaide Poker Championships Final Day


10-   4.30pm, Friday 15 November – 2013 No Limit Hold’em Freeze-out (buy-in AU$1,100)



For more details visit 2013 Adelaide Poker Championships or alternatively stay tuned to FTR for all the latest new and results from around the poker world.