Select Page

Following several highly competitive rounds in the division finals, the final table has been set at the PokerStars World Cup of Poker VII.

Here’s how the competitors will shape up, according to a recent PokerStars release:

Americas division: Team Argentina
Asia-Pacific division: Team Philippines
Europe 1 division: Team United Kingdom
Europe 2 division: Team Spain
Europe 3division: Team Slovakia
Europe 4 division: Team Ukraine
USA division: Team USA Group 5
France division: : Team France
Italy division: Team Italy

The Grand Final itself is set to be held as part of the PokerStars Caribbean Adventure, which runs from January 9-16, 2011. All of the teams listed above will see their travel and accommodation costs paid by the event organizer, as part of their prize package.

Once action gets underway, each player will find themselves entered as part of a single table tournament. Their efforts at this stage will determine each nation’s starting chip stack for the final table. The final table itself will operate in a tag-team sort of format, with each team member rotating in and out of action. Once the dust settles, the eventual winners will take home $100,000 for their efforts. In total, there will be $300,000 in guaranteed cash on the line.

But while the money is certainly nice, national pride has to count for something. Last year, it was Chinese Taipei who took home the World Cup of Poker crown. Other than the USA, no team at this final table has a championship win to their credit. It will be interesting to see how things shake out early next year.

Promotions like this one continue to show why PokerStars is one of the world’s greatest gaming companies. Their international appeal is growing ever stronger, and should continue to do so, with many more such promotions in the offing.