Select Page

PokerStars, the world’s largest online poker room, has recently announced the inaugural Americas Cup of Poker (ACP) tournament series.  Beginning July 27th, players from 13 countries located throughout the Americas, as well as 3 wildcard teams, will play for big money and the pride of their home country.  The thirteen eligible countries are the United States, Mexico, Ecuador, Canada, Columbia, Uruguay, Chile, Venezuela, Peru, Costa Rica, Brazil, Argentina, and Paraguay.

The entire series is somewhat complicated, but basically players will be split up into teams by country.  Countries will be split into four groups, each group having 4 countries in it.  Countries will face off against one another in daily freerolls, $.20 and $5.50 tournaments.  The top 100 individual finishers of each tournament will earn points for their team and for themselves.  Pay tournaments will earn players more points than freerolls.  So a 1st place finish in a freeroll is worth 600 points, a $.20 winner will earn 1,500 points, and a winner of a $5.50 tournament will earn 3,000 points.

The top two countries in each group, measured by total points earned by their team, will move on to the live final.  Teams for the live final will be made up of 1 PokerStars Pro and the five players who earned the most points for their team during the online qualifiers.

The live final will be held at a ski resort in Bariloche in the region of Patagonia in Argentina.  And what’s up for grabs at the final table?  A cool quarter of a million dollars!  The top 8 players will be paid at the live final.  5th through 8th place will pay $10,000, 4th will pay $20,000, it’s $30,000 for 3rd and $60,000 for 2nd.  The winner of the live final table will earn himself $100,000 and his country will be named winner of the Americas Cup of Poker.

For more information on the Americas Cup of Poker, check the ACP page at PokerStars.