Last week, the Sixth Annual Irish Poker Classic’s Main Event attracted a record 169 players – signs that the popularity of this international tournament is growing.  The event had a €150,000 guarantee with a €1,500+€100 buy-in.  Ten out of the 169 placed in the money, with Rob Taylor taking home the grand prize of €46,000 and the title.

Irish pros Marty Smyth and Roy Brindley made their apperance at the tournament with other names such as Michael Greco and Ian Woodley.  Annette Obrestad, who at only 18 is the youngest winner of a WSOP braclet off American soil, also played.  She will soon be defending her 2007 WSOPE Main Event Championship.

Winner Rob Taylor is also no stranger to poker, as he himself is one of Ireland’s top professionals.

The Irish Poker Classic Main Event was part of the Irish Classic Poker Festival 2008.  The tournament ran from August 11th to August 17th at the Macau Sporting Club in Cork, Ireland.

The standings of the final table fell as:

1. Rob Taylor €46,000
2. Oliver la Rochelle € 47,500
3. Ryan O’Donoghue €38,250
4. Nicky Power €41,250
5. Jeff Duvall €15,000
6. Jonathan Butter s €12,500
7. Mick O’Brien €10,000
8. Ben Blackmore €7,500
9. Paul Corrway €5,000
10. Michael McKeever €4,000