Quote Originally Posted by dalecooper
Fire once, check/fold. I almost always get burned when I forget this rule and fire at the turn. The inevitable result: call on the turn, I check or bet the river and get raised either way, and end up folding or calling a guy with top pair.
i would agree with this.

generally, if you fire again on the turn and it's called, they've got something. it might be a pair of 2's, but you're still beat. and then, what can you do but check the river (they're now "invested" and aren't going away without a large river bet) - checking the river is like putting a "kick me" sign on your back!

i'm assuming we're talking no limit here - if it's limit, it's down to pot odds justifying your continuing to draw (if you think pairing the A or K will hold up).